Christmas running

In spite of consuming my body weight in roast potatoes on Christmas day and waking up feeling feverish and weak as a kitten this morning, I perked up at lunch time and decided it was time for a run.

Previous to today’s canter, I was out Christmas Eve, sliding about in the mud for four miles, but today, Boxing Day, I decided to take the river trail and try for some decent times.

Blimey, there must be something to be said for catching up on sleep and eating food that has to be cooked from scratch and isn’t called a sandwich.

My first mile came in at 9.40 which is my fasted mile ever. By miles (pun, sorry) – my fastest previous was 10.26. Second mile a lot slower, but then I picked up again on the third mile and came in 33.44. Very pleased with myself, though the conditions were good and I’d had a decent lunch (though I’m not sure Paula Radcliffe would advocate eccles cakes as a training food, but I did have an omelette as well so not too shoddy).

It’s been a grey old day today but I can’t think of a better way to spend my holiday time than jogging through fresh air. Plus the fact I’m almost keeping up with my Christmas chocolate calories consumption. Though may be a long, long run might be a useful bank – I’ve got New Year’s Eve to think about yet.

As we know, Santa came early with my Garmin. I hope Santa bought you all some cool running pressies too.

Leave a comment